I am not ashamed of the Gospel

There is a hymn that you have probably sung a hundred times in church:

We’re an anchor for those who are hurting
We’re a harbor for those who are lost
Sometimes it’s not always easy
Bearing Calvary’s cross

We’ve been ridiculed by those
who don’t know Him
We’ve been mocked by those who don’t believe
Still I love standing up for my Jesus
‘Cause of all that He’s done for me

Chorus:
That’s why I am not ashamed of the gospel
The gospel of Jesus Christ
No, I’m not afraid to be counted
‘Cause I’m willing to give my life
Ya see, I’m ready to be all He wants me to be
To give up the wrong for the right
No, I am not ashamed of the gospel
[of Jesus Christ]

Have you thought through the words and the meaning. The song proudly proclaims, I am not ashamed of the Gospel, the Gospel of Jesus Christ, so much so that I am ready to give my life. Do you really sing this as a song that reflects your life or does the meaning float on by?

For whosoever shall be ashamed of me and of my words, of him shall the Son of man be ashamed, when he shall come in his own glory, and in his Father’s, and of the holy angels. Luke 9:26

For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth; to the Jew first, and also to the Greek. Romans 1:16

It’s so easy in this world to just cower or hide when our faith comes under attack. When the people we are around start talking negatively about our Savior we tend to shy away not wanting to offend the company we are in. Perhaps we are ashamed that the things we once had in common we no longer share a similar bond on so we just go on as if nothing is different. Paul tells us in Romans 1:16 that he is not ashamed of the gospel because of the saving power of Jesus. Essentially he is saying why be ashamed of Good News? We don’t hide when we get a pay raise or buy a new car, yet once we are saved we tend to hide that.

In Luke 9:26 Jesus is telling the Jews if you are ashamed of me then my Father will be ashamed of you. The Jews were expecting a strong powerful world leader. Instead they were given the Messiah who died – they felt they had reason to be ashamed. They missed the Good News – Christ died that they might live! Christ won, he defeated death, game over; you are on the winning side – no reason to be ashamed.

The next time you feel a bit embarrassed or shameful of your status as a Christian, think of the Good News that comes along with it and share that Good News with others. Perhaps by overcoming your anxiety and nervousness a few times God will show you the great power of His love. While you are sharing the love of Christ in your life you may even influence another to find Christ – now there are two of you, three, or even four plus who are not ashamed of the Gospel! Trust in God to help you and watch for opportunities to share His word; it would be such a heartbreak to one day be standing in Heaven and see all the souls we could have one for Jesus.