Lovest thou me?

Do you truly love Jesus?  When you tell Jesus you love him, do you really mean it, do you show it?

So when they had dined, Jesus saith to Simon Peter, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me more than these? He saith unto him, Yea, Lord; thou knowest that I love thee. He saith unto him, Feed my lambs.  He saith to him again the second time, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me? He saith unto him, Yea, Lord; thou knowest that I love thee. He saith unto him, Feed my sheep.  He saith unto him the third time, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me? Peter was grieved because he said unto him the third time, Lovest thou me? And he said unto him, Lord, thou knowest all things; thou knowest that I love thee. Jesus saith unto him, Feed my sheep.  John 15-17

In a world where the word “love” is tossed around it’s easy to say we love Jesus and we love to follow him.  We see Hollywood throw the word love around in movies and TV shows.  People will do anything for money because their true love is measured in possessions.  Young people today go from date to date throwing the word love out each time.  Marriages start out with something called love, but many times end in hate. The true test is what do we do for Christ?  Are we feeding his sheep?  Peter denied Christ and had repented – Jesus now wanted him to commit to serving him.  Show him, don’t just tell him!

The word love Jesus used here can be translated from Agape love – a self sacrificing love.  Jesus was asking Peter do you love me more than you love those around us?  The second time he simply asked, do you love me?  Many translations say that the 3rd time Jesus asked he used the word phileo for love – which is a brotherly love.  We might translate this today as Are we friends, do you care about me?

Jesus asked Peter 3 times – Jesus didn’t just settle for a simple answer, instead he asked 3 times to force Peter to really think about his answer.  So I ask, do you love Jesus?  Do you really and truly care for Jesus?  Are you willing to take up your cross and follow him?

And when he had called the people unto him with his disciples also, he said unto them, Whosoever will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.

The cross that Jesus bore for us was the ultimate sign of love…we should never have to ask Jesus if he loves us.  His love was shown on the cross.  In the same way are we willing to give it all over to Jesus, our possessions, our needs, our wants, or even our lives?  The true mark of a person who really loves Christ is one who is willing to follow him, willing to submit to him, and willing to serve him.  If you feel like your love is empty, examine your heart.  Do you find yourself straying away from opportunities to serve?  Are you holding back parts of your life from Jesus?  Show him you love him by feeding his sheep!  Show him by doing his work!

2 Responses

  1. PLEASE PRAY FOR ME…I DO LOVE JESUS After all he has done for me…GOD THE FATHER Has saved me from so many accidents..he sent his son JESUS TO DIE FOR ME..But for some reason I Can’t seem to talk or tell about,not cause I HAVE no Faith in him,,I have no confidence to be a speaker..I Know just put my trust in him and swallow my pride.PLEASE PLEASE LORD HELP ME…I CAN’T DO IT ALONE..I NEED YOUR HOLY SPIRIT TOGUIDE ME..AMEN

  2. It’s great that you recognize that need in your life. Remember also that God has gifted each of uniquely. Perhaps speaking in front of crowds or groups isn’t your gift. God may use you in other ways. Do what you are doing and continue to pray for His guidance. Ultimately He will show you what to do – besides He does the hard part, all we have to do is share our experience 😉

Leave a comment