I must be about my Father’s Business

And He said to them, “Why did you seek Me? Did you not know that I must be about My Father’s business?”  Luke 2:49

I won’t lie – one of the things I pray most for is that to find the will of God in my life.  This is of the utmost importance to me and I believe it is something we should strive for hourly.  We can’t just seek it and leave it be; we must seek it constantly or we will fall out of it.  Jesus says in John 4:34:

 Jesus said to them, “My food is to do the will of Him who sent Me, and to finish His work.

The food here is a type of spiritual nourishment; food that feeds and gives us the nutrients we need to survive.  By doing God’s will we are in His presence and receiving nourishment.  While living in God’s will we ultimately bring Him glory and honor He truly deserves.  Jesus prays, just before he is captured, about finishing his father’s work in John 17:4:

 I have glorified You on the earth. I have finished the work which You have given Me to do.

I think Jesus’ life is such a neat example here.  As a young child he mentions doing the business (work, will) of his father.  He still obeys his earthly parents, but puts his primary focus on obeying God.  Finally at the end, he says he has completed that work – this should be our prayer that when we die we can say to God, I have done all you have given me and you have received all the glory.

A life in God’s will is a life of obedience and that’s how we should measure our success.  Success is not having lots of money, many material possessions, or having the most friends.  It’s doing the will and work God, being obedient in all things that He ask of us.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

